A Treat for the Ears. Or something.

becomingcliche:

I am sick today, so you get a reblog. It’s the time of year when all the radio stations and shipping malls are regaling you with Christmas tunes, anyway, so I’m not that early. Heck, Hallmark has their ornament premiere in July, so I might even be a little late. Anyway, enjoy.

Originally posted on Becoming Cliche:

A nice wintery picture to make the falling snow look less like dandruff.

Everybody has a list. Here’s mine, in no particular order.

Christmas Shoes - This has to be the sappiest song ever written. And it makes no sense. A kid’s mom is terminally ill, so his dad lets him wander away from the hospital with maybe thirty-five cents in his pocket (okay, I made that number up. But it’s based on research with an actual child. My kid’s pockets contain less than fifty cents at any given moment) to go buy his mama some shoes. So she can look pretty when she meets Jesus. Personally, I thought the Prince of Peace was looking at our hearts and not our footwear. Maybe I should buy something other than Birkenstocks. And what kind of shoes does Dad think the kid can even buy with a quarter and some pocket lint? Even in the clearance rack at Wal-mart, the pickings would be pretty…

View original 513 more words

10 thoughts on “A Treat for the Ears. Or something.

  1. How did I not comment on this last year? Had I not yet found your blog a year ago? Because it boggles my mind that, unless I missed it, no one mentioned “Santa Baby.” I loathe every single thing about that song, and no, it does not matter whether Eartha Kitt or Madonna is singing it. It’s horrible.

  2. Gah, it was IMPOSSIBLE to get here via the reader, it kept taking me to the other post WHICH I HAVE ALREADY READ MORE THAN ONCE.

    I had to click on the home page, then come to the comments. Bluh.

    Feel better soon, my friend. <3

  3. I love every Christmas song going. Even ‘Christmas Tree’ by Dustin the Turkey! Perhaps its just an Irish thing but I get so blinded by the joys of Christmas I cant see what is good and bad :)

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

