What’s In It For Me?: Thoughts From a NaNoWriMo Veteran

becomingcliche:

Dying for a follow up on my NaNo experience? I knew you were.

Originally posted on Tipsy Lit:

The beginning of December is a little sad for me. Not because Black Friday has once again crushed all my faith in humanity, but because it means that NaNoWriMo is over for another year. This is my third year, my third December wondering what in the world just happened reflecting on a glorious month of writing.

I had never even heard of NaNoWriMo until October 2011. Two days before Halloween, someone mentioned it in my Twitter feed. Call me crazy spontaneous, but I signed up on two days’ notice. Never mind that I hadn’t written seriously in years. I wanted to write seriously again. What better way to jump start?  I threw myself face first off the deep end, and I belly-flopped. It was a little more difficult than I had imagined. 1,667 words a day didn’t sound like a lot when I was gleefully registering on Halloween, but the last major…

View original 1,018 more words

5 thoughts on “What’s In It For Me?: Thoughts From a NaNoWriMo Veteran

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo update: Chapter 3 | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  2. The thing that has always puzzled me about NaNoWriMo is the seeming obsession about word counts. I am not a writer. I write what I want, or in the case of my work, what I need to write in the number of words it takes to “get ‘er done”. Sometimes I need a lot of words and sometimes I need a few words. Wouldn’t it be more effective to set goals in terms of chapters or plot lines? Just curious.

    • I think the magic behind the word count is that 50K is considered a full-length novel. The book by the founder lists several famous novels of that length, so it’s a very concrete goal to aim for that can be measured out in graphs and validated at the end.

      In my current project, word count means nothing at all. Each time I sit down, I think in terms of the scenes I want to accomplish rather than words because this book is much, much more difficult to write. I will never have a 10K day on this one because it would all just be garbage, whereas the last one was a light and airy project that just flowed, so 10K was always within the realm of possibility.

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

