Intentional Eating

I have some weight to lose. Some. We’ll call it 15 pounds just to keep things friendly. Since my youngest kid is old enough to wear big boy underwear and climb the monkey bars at the playground, it’s not really accurate to call it “baby fat.” It’s all mine, and it’s time to do something about it.

I exercise quite a bit. I take long walks with a friend a couple of times a week, I walk my kids to and from school, I can put 10 mile behind me with the hiking club with no problem at all. But I am still covered with a layer of fluff that I can really do without. The only thing left to look at is my diet. I try to eat healthy for the most part. But I like my food. A lot. So maybe that’s where I should start.

I decided to be more intentional about what I eat. If I limit myself to 1800 calories and plan out each day’s menu ahead of time, I should be able to get control of the situation.

Day 1:

Breakfast: bowl of corn chex cereal with skim milk
Snack: apple
Lunch: Salad
Snack: second bowl of cereal
Dinner: Black bean burger, salad, steamed vegetables

Going great. A bit hungry, but that’s okay. That’s my body breaking down the fat, right?

Day 2:

Breakfast: Bowl of cereal
Snack: Apple
Lunch: salad, pretzels
Dinner: lasagna, salad

I’m a little bored with the cereal, but I feel great! Another trip to the grocery store to buy salad.

Day 3

Breakfast: cereal
Snack: Frozen yoghurt
Lunch: Black Bean burger, pretzels, apple
Dinner: leftover lasagna

Why did I buy 3 boxes of corn chex cereal? And how long will it take to get to the bottom of them?

Day 4

Breakfast: another frickin’ bowl of cereal. Oh, my WORD! There is nothing to it but crunch! I want pancakes! And bacon.
Snack: half a box of Junior Mints
Lunch: Veggie burger. With sauteed onions and mushrooms. And chips. And some carrot sticks for good measure
Snack: other half of Junior Mints. God’s most perfect candy
Dinner: Chicken sandwich. From Chic-fil-a

I AM SO HUNGRY!!!! Have I lost 15 lbs yet? Out of salad. Again. Another trip to the grocery store. Please kill me now.

Day 5:

Breakfast: 2 bowls of that stinkin’ cereal.
Lunch: bean burrito at local restaurant
Snack: frozen yogurt. with oreos, peanut M&M’s, and crushed Heath bars
Dinner: sandwich

Please feed me! I don’t care if I’m fat, I just want to EAT! Please, in the name of all that is good and holy!

Day 6:

Ate a hippo.

I know that poaching is wrong, but poached is oh, so right. I will be fat forever. I am not sure I care.

One thought on “Intentional Eating

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

