I’m Gonna Be Rich!

I am a big cheapskate, and I refuse to pay retail for my kids’ clothes. Let me amend that statement. My kids can stain a pair of jeans in 4.2 seconds, so paying more than $2 a pair makes me want to cry. I’m very fortunate to have some great kids’ consignment sales in my area, most of which pop up twice a year. Give me $50 and a couple of hours, and I can outfit a kid for a season.

But I’ve been missing an opportunity. I have never once actually sold stuff at these sales. It’s not that I don’t have a garage full of stuff that my kids outgrew before we ever took it off the hanger. I do. Or that I never hid a toy that I hate in a closet so that my kids could never play with it. I have. (Please don’t tell them.) I confess that I’ve just been a big chicken.

Last spring, I got a wild hair to become a consignor myself at my very favorite sale. I had been storing outgrown clothes on hangers for months (okay, years), and I had a collection of rarely used (read: Mommy hated them) toys. I was good to go. Registration was a breeze. But when it came down to ordering the bar codes, I freaked and ignominiously unregistered myself.

But this time, it’s for all the marbles. I have registered, ordered bar codes, chosen my drop off time and a shift to work. It’s gonna be awesome. The only thing left to do is, um, pin all the clothing items on hangers and put the prices on them. All 120 of them. Please shoot me now.

What a total pain in the behind. The whole thing. Let’s start with the pins. I bought 400 gold pins several weeks ago because I had been told that if I waited too long, every store in three counties would be sold out. I was all proud of myself because I was getting a jump in the whole thing. Yeah. 2 weeks a lost receipt and one opened box later, I realized that the pins are entirely too small. After another trip to the store and the purchase of 500 more pins, I find that the size that I need only comes in mix-sized packages.

And don’t get me started on zip ties. I know they are the most convenient way to secure shoes together, but it took three stores to find a store that carries them, or at least whose employees could tell me where they were.

And maybe you shouldn’t ask about the hangers. They’re the reason the pins were too small in the first place. Wire hangers are much, much easier to pin clothing to, but plastic is the material of choice for our local sales. They’re fat, break easily, and seem to strongly resent having things pinned to them.

Affixing the clothing to the hangers has been almost as fun as poking sharp things in my fingers. Wait. It has been exactly like that, and add trying not to bleed on the stuff I’m hoping to sell into the bargain. And I haven’t even started pinning on the price tags. I’m looking forward to it.

Will it be worth doing again? Time will tell. It’s kind of like childbirth. If the payoff is good, all the blood, sweat and tears will be forgotten. I’ll let you know how it goes.

2 thoughts on “I’m Gonna Be Rich!

  1. I found zip ties at The Dollar Store for remarkable $1 ! I also got my safety pins there which are not that great quality but good enough. I ended up using 50/50 on wire and plastic hangers. But I’m with you on the ‘we’ll see’ aspect. All our clothes are either hand-me-downs or from consignment sales so I have always felt fine with donating. But maybe I’ll be rich too….

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

