Parenting Dilemma #432

Imma cook sumfin yummy for you.

Kids don’t come with manuals, and situations for which there are no set rules pop up with some frequency. As a favor to you, I am here to give you a leg up on your own parenting by sharing some potential dilemmas. This provides you an opportunity to discuss with your co-parent/mother/therapist ways in which you might handle the same incidents should they ever happen to you. Thank me later. Believe me, you will want to.

Situation #432- Unsolicited Sharing.

Smallest son approaches you with finger outstretched. On said finger, you find the bounty of his most recent (oh, dear Lord, you hope!) nostril-mining expedition. And he is offering to share it with you. Do you:

a) Scream loudly, remove the prize with a tissue and bathe both child and yourself in Listerine

b) Admonish your child to never, ever, ever pick his nose again, that’s disgusting!

c) Recognize that your child is very, very generously offering you a treat he was planning to eat himself and thank him, while quietly removing offending nugget with a tissue.

d)) Pretend you don’t understand what he is saying and offer some fun-bubbles and a good hand-wash

e) Crawl under the bed and hide, hoping beyond hope that he doesn’t wipe it on the new curtains

There is only one wrong choice, and the very thought of it gives me the screaming willies. I couldn’t bring myself to even offer it as an option. So what do you do? Don’t even bother to check Dr.Spock or the Baby Whisperer, because they have neglected to cover this particular situation. Discuss and get back to me.

7 thoughts on “Parenting Dilemma #432

  1. Aw, sharing is caring!! I’ll be checking back to see how moms handle this situation.

    With my 0-hours of childcare experience, I would probably say something like this, “Really? You think I want that? Keep it in your nose or put it in a tissue, buddy. Let’s wash our hands!”

  2. Hehe, my big guy is forever trying to give me his boogers. “Boogers go in the trash bud” is my standard answer. I would rather he give them to me than stick them on the wall, which I have caught him doing. Yuck!

  3. You should be thankful it wast just snot. .. My 2yo once handed a ball of poo to his dad, and not knowing what it was, daddy took it graciously… you shoulda seen the look on his face when he realized what it REALLY was *insert very very evil grin*

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

