Pin Me!

Maybe I’m trying to keep up with the Jones’. Maybe I’m tired of being left in the dark ages. Perhaps I’m looking for new vehicles to share my work. Or possibly a combination of the three. Either way, a site has recently appeared on my radar. I am naturally curious, but also a bit hesitant.But then a friend mentioned that the site is addictive. New internet addiction? That sounds like it’s exactly what I need in my life! Sign me up for Pinterest!

But it’s not that easy. You don’t just sign up. You have to request an invite. I requested one, sure that it was a formality. I entirely expected my invitation to appear in my inbox instantaneously. I hit “request an invitation” with more than a trace of smugness and waited for my email counter to go up. It was, indeed, instantaneous, but I was in for a surprise. It doesn’t contain a password or any sort of information to log in. It said “Thanks for joining the waiting list.” I’m not “in.”

And I wait. The email says that I can follow them on Twitter. Right. I spent my whole youth on the periphery, watching the cool kids but unable to join in. I don’t need that now. I will ignore them until they want me. And I know that they will! Times have changed. I’m no longer that awkward fourteen year old. I’m cool, right? Maybe I’ll just peek. For a minute.

I wonder if they’ll just send me information to log in, or if I will have to prove my worthiness. Will they run my undergarments up a flag pole? With me in them? Or make me push pennies down the hall with my nose? Or give me a swirlie in a filthy toilet?  Doesn’t matter. I’ll do it. I need in.

I must pin. I want to create a virtual bulletin board more than I ever thought I would. It’s more than that. I need in. Everyone else is in there pinning and creating. And laughing at me because I am not there with them.

Why haven’t I heard? What if I am not Pinterest material? I’m expecting to find a note pinned to my board that says “Sorry. You are so last-Tuesday. Go to Friendster. They are more your speed.” You might as well just stuff me in a locker and leave me there.

Wait. My email counter just went up. And there it is, a message that says “You’ve been invited to join Pinterest.” Really, guys? I just requested my invite exactly ten minutes ago, and you’re already letting me in? How desperate can you get? Ten minutes, and you’re already begging me to join?  Never mind. I’m going back to Subjot. That’s where the cool kids are.

 

11 thoughts on “Pin Me!

  1. I recently joined too! Darn you, peer-pressure! It is pretty on there! However, I haven’t become addicted yet. I was so nervous about the “invitation” process as well. Not impressed my their Psych 101 ploy to make their site seem cooler. Not fooling us, Pinterest! (But thank goodness we got in!)

  2. Groucho Marx is known for the famous quote: “I refuse to join any club that would have me as a member.”

    Tee-hee. That’s seems so appropriate for your pinteresting situation! Almost like hitting the needle on the head! Don’t you think?

    Sorry. I couldn’t refuse the bad pin… I mean PUN! 😉

  3. Ha ha…I’m totally addicted to pinterest. I could spend hours on there (could ha ha like I haven’t). The friend that told you could have added you and you wouldn’t have felt left out those 10 minutes. . 🙂

  4. Pingback: Putting a Pin In It « Woman In Thrisis

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

