Nearly Wordless Wednesday 11/30

Hello, Back of Couch. Take a memo.

It has been a few weeks since Daylight Saving time kicked in, and I have finally managed to reset all of the clocks in the house. Yes, it did take us this long. Thank you for asking. I am now taking suggestions on resetting the 16-year-old cat. She has a standing appointment with the living room couch upstairs at 5:45am, but something has gone awry, as she now appears to be set for Greenwich Mean Time. I seem to have misplaced the instruction manual for the cat-clock. Here’s what I have learned the hard way.

1) Cat-clocks do not come with snooze buttons.

2) Cat-clocks do come equipped with claws, therefore a search for a snooze button is inadvisable.

3) Cat-clocks are unbelievably loud and persistent at 1:30am. And 2am. And 4:30am.

4) If anyone in the entire house wants to sleep, the cat-clock must be allowed to win.

19 thoughts on “Nearly Wordless Wednesday 11/30

  1. If I feed my cat alarm clock the night before, it still goes off in the morning, but usually in a less obnoxious way, i.e., she still puts her butt in my face, but she won’t howl and scratch me.

  2. I don’t sleep with my cats because they insist on waking me up every 1-2 hours. Now they just wake me up by crying and clawing at the bedroom door, but that’s usually just in the morning when they think I’ve overslept at 5:00 a.m.

  3. We have four of the endearing creatures. All are allowed on the bed, but only the brave of heart remain (I have restless leg syndrome and yes, cats can fly). Ruthie our newest and apparently smartest has learned to move with great stealth among the pillows, which is pretty good for a three legged kitten, and resort to licking our faces with a tongue so rough I feel as if I’ve woken to a master exfoliant.

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

