Nearly Wordless Wednesday: Why My Mom Doesn’t Let Me Garden

I am useless in a garden. I am easily distracted and way more interested in the fauna than the flora. I dig a scoop of soil and watch disinterred earthworms squirming uncomfortably in the sudden sunlight like slimy vampires, and I gently tuck them back in. I study the beetles emerging from underground and puzzle at how they can be so shiny when they’ve been buried in the dirt.  And then I find this guy, seeing and hoping not to be seen, and am filled with wonder at the miracle that is the natural world. Plant a flower? Thank you, but I don’t think I have the time. I’m looking right now.

.What do you see?

.

Can you see me now?

31 thoughts on “Nearly Wordless Wednesday: Why My Mom Doesn’t Let Me Garden

    • I love being surprised by toads. If I turned back the covers and found one in my bed, I would turn on the mattress cover so that it would be all warm. It really is amazing that my husband ever married me.

  1. When I first met my now-wife, her family liked me well enough, but thought I was a little too urban. Not enough time workin’ the land. i was somewhere with my then-girlfriend and her mom and her mom was planting some flowers and un-earthed a worm. She asked if I’d ever seen one before. I was still trying to impress her, so I answered very nicely, but really? A worm? Have I ever seen a worm??

  2. What handsome specimen!! My boys and I launch a worm rescue brigade every time we have a heavy rain. The top of our driveway has no many displaced squirmies that it looks like a horror movie. We save as many as we can — you’ve got to keep fighting the good fight.

  3. You’re my kind of girl! I find the little garden creatures utterly fascinating as well. Frankly, I have no idea why anyone in the world would fear spiders, they are just adorable!
    Although I have to admit that I love plants, too. Guess there is a reason I’m a biologist.
    Oh, and my 2-year old saw the picture and went “Oh, froooggg!!!” My boy 🙂

  4. I am so with you on the gardening thing. That has NEVER been one of my strengths. Fortunately, Cap’n Firepants has a green thumb, so I don’t have to worry about it – just enjoy the fruits of his labor.

  5. That’s a very handsome toad you’ve got there. I’m also more interested in the critters than in plants, although I do like to look at the flowering plants that my wife plants and cares for. She’s the gardener and I’m the guy who while still in his 40s had a 30 gallon aquarium stocked with small wild fish that I’d caught with a net at a local pond, including a Large Mouth Bass and a Bullhead Catfish, which were my two favorites.

  6. Oh wow! very cute. i did not see him at first 🙂
    I am not one to really dig my fingers in the soil. When I am gardening with my oldest daughter and we see bugs and crawlies we always inspect them. I try to keep my cool, and not show her that the big fast crawling ones creep me out just a wee bit.

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

