Where’s Waldo?

A picture’s worth a thousand words. I try to limit myself to 600 words per post, so I add a few pictures in the hopes that doing so boosts my daily word count. That totally works, right? Anyway, this post was inspired by Cassie who looked for hidden tortoises in yesterday’s post. Because she knew there simply must be one. It was my post, after all.

My zoo works with bog turtles, a species endangered due primarily to habitat loss and collection for the pet trade. The keepers hatch the eggs, grow the babies for a couple of years, and then release them at the site where the eggs were found. When they hatch, bog turtles are the size of a june bug, and it takes them 10 years to reach breeding size (they top out at about 4 inches).

There is a turtle in the picture below. I can see it. Can you? It’s there. I’ll post a close-up this weekend.

Glyptemys muhlenbergii Once you find it, you can't NOT see it. I think. Maybe it's just me. It took me six months to find this tiny turtle in the enclosure at all.

.

By my count, this post is about 1200 words long, right?

Wild, crazy update: there are TWO turtles in this picture! All this time, I thought there was only one baby in this enclosure, and when I zoomed,  I discovered a second! Who knows what other surprises are hiding?

37 thoughts on “Where’s Waldo?

  1. One! One bog turtle! Bleh-heh-heh…

    I think you’re pulling my leg about the second one, though. It’s not like I’ve zoomed in on the picture and gone over it in a grid pattern or anything. *ahem*

    There is one suspiciously turtle-shaped clump of mud, though…

  2. I think I see one. Then I scroll down and it says there are two? You’re killing me. Do you know I have work to do? And a floor to mop? What a sneaky way to get more page views. Why didn’t I think of this?

  3. I have the opposite problem – I use photos to keep my word count down, since excessive verbiage is a side effect of my heavy duty caffeine habit. Lol
    Spent many years of my boyhood spotting turtles, (someone told me Spotted turtles are rare, so I caught and spotted a bunch of them!) so I found one turtle pretty quickly, but have yet to see the second one. But I’m working on it, which sure beats doing the work that I get paid for. Lol :-) My boss might not see it that way, but screw him! (and better you than me)

  4. I can find no turtles. NO TURTLES! But I could never find that stupid Waldo, either.

    Mostly what I’m jazzed about is that I’m late to the game, here, and you WORK for a ZOO. It’s like you’re living my dream life. I’m going to pretend I’m you today while I’m doing people’s taxes, it’ll be nice.

      • More turtles? I am so excited! (Turtles are just about my favorite thing ever. This is just the best.)

        I don’t think anyone’s ever accused my paycheck of being “actual” before. It’s too small for that.

      • Zoo = not-for-profit = hello, poverty! It’s nice to meet you! I cannot wait until I can work for the zoo again full time, though. Who needs to eat when you can play with tortoises all day.

        Just wait until tomorrow. Just. You. Wait.

  5. Yay!!! I THINK I see two. You should have put really tiny white and red hats on them. Then I could have spotted them easily! :)

  6. Hello there!

    I nominated you for a Liebster Award! That’s a fake award that bloggers give to other bloggers that they love and adore. Congrats! I linked to your blog in my post today to spread the love for 5 of my favorites.

    Liebster Award Rules:

    1. Thank your Liebster Blog Award presenter on your blog.
    2. Link back to the blogger who presented the award to you.
    3. Copy and paste the blog award on your blog.
    4. Present the Liebster Blog Award to 5 blogs of 200 followers or less who you feel deserve to be noticed. (Not sure if I followed this rule or not… oops…)
    5. Let them know they have been chosen by leaving a comment at their blog.

    Huzzah!

  7. I think I see one. But then again I used to think I could see entire reproductions of Manet in those Magic Eye pics from my childhood. I was kind of full of it back then.

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

