Ever Have One Of Those Days?

You know. The kind of day where you sigh and say “Wait, why do I have camel food in my car?” Yeah, me, too.

It’s not as if I feed camels everyday. I don’t. They’re on the other side of the zoo from where I work, and I rarely venture that far in a day’s volunteering. But there it is. In the console, waiting to make some camel very happy. Or very sick. That stuff has been in there for at least a year.

The biggest why comes not from the fact that camel food appeared in my car. That would be like asking why there are rocks in my dryer. Duh.  The real question is why it’s still there. My husband cleans out my car all the time. “What a sweetie,” you might say. And he is. But not when it comes to my car. He has very specific ideas about what is allowed to stay in my car and what is not.

Items on the unacceptable list include but are not limited to:

Car books. You know what I’m talking about. Books we keep in the car so we have something to read in the car line at school, etc. They’re too good to throw away, not good enough to devote any real time to.

Napkins. Am I the only parent who stashes fast food napkins in the console for emergencies? Where else am I going to put the boogie that Squish sweetly wipes on my sleeve? I’ve been forced to get creative.

Emergency stash of feminine hygiene products. A napkin is a napkin, no matter how sanitary. I assume these are like kryptonite and must be removed from the little drawer under the passenger’s side seat before it is safe for a guy to drive the car.

The sign with my son’s name on it that allows me to retrieve the kid from school when I am forced to drive.

Any CD by The Wiggles. He may have a point with that one.

Extra pair of shoes for Squish. Seriously. You never know when a sandal is going to go flying out the window break.

Reusable bagsTo be perfectly truthful, these are not removed from the car. They are locked neatly in the trunk, so I think they’ve been left behind.

SunscreenHe might be trying to kill me.

Items that are apparently deemed worthy to stay include:

Any CD by REM. Except for the ones that mysteriously disappear and later turn up in his car.

Camel food.

The only question remaining is why I have not removed it myself. And that’s an easy one. I rarely see it. The bag is usually buried under clean napkins. Maybe I’m not perfect, either.

What’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever found in your car?

22 thoughts on “Ever Have One Of Those Days?

  1. LOL My wife would politely TELL me to leave her stuff alone. Along with the pffftttt and the eye roll if I dared to reply 🙂

  2. Oh yes all those things belong in any woman’s car. Welll except for camel food, but in truthif you never see it, there ya go. Ever been in a guys truck, makes our cars look pretty darn good.

  3. No, you are not the only one. I have a stash of fast food napkins in the side pockets, too. Which in itself is kind of amazing because we only have fast food about twice a year, and only once out of these in the car. I really wish they wouldn’t throw these at you the way they do.

  4. If you plated everything in gold (or camel feces), he wouldn’t throw it away. You wouldn’t waste the gas on expensive air conditioning either cuz you’d want the window down all the time…just my thoughts. (I also invest in Wet Wipes over napkins…contains it all in one area).

  5. Loved it! And although I’ve never seen camel food in my car (maybe I should look more carefully next time) I do identify with this post. I have car books, fast-food napkins, hand sanitizer, reusable bags, extra socks (for the little guy, not for me), and even a few forgotten toys.

  6. I’m with you on the books–no good enough to warrant prime time, but good enough to entertain one when one is waiting in line for anything. As to anything else, my hubby doesn’t touch my car and I don’t touch his. It works!

  7. The middle tray thingy in my car is covered in used tissues. It’s way to unsanitary for my husband to think of even touching it. Maybe make the snot a little more visible on the napkins?

    • I use that same trick to keep my husband from grabbing my red jacket instead of his. One careless examination of the pocket of my jacket has kept him from doing it again for 10 years easy.

  8. I’ve always wondered where all the shoes you see on the side of the road come from. Now I know. They flew out the window :o)

  9. The stuff that you keep in your car sounds quite reasonable and useful to me…

    What’s the weirdest thing I’ve ever found in my car? That would be a toss up between my ex-wife, and the guy who was trying to steal my car… Nah, ex-wife wins hands down.

  10. I always keep emergency feminine products in my car too… actually I would say that all of the stuff in your car sounds like the stuff I have in mine (except the camel food and the Wiggles CD). Seriously, car books are important. I can’t tell you how many times they have come to the rescue… when my kids start bickering I love saying “if you can’t get along then you can read a book” or “You are bored, then read a book!”. You got to keep a few back there… I also recommend “Mad Libs” as a great car hoarding item.

  11. My husband cleans out my car too & he often comments on what he finds, but to me it’s all normal. And just to set the record straight, it’s my husband who collects all the fast food napkins for the glove compartment!

  12. Camel food might just take the cake for random car items! It might not weird save for the sheer number – 3 sets of jumper cables are in my car right now. People give them to me, apparently I look like the type who runs her battery down…

  13. Pingback: Lostnchina’s One Year Anniversary « lostnchina

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

