A Truth To Tell

When I go to the library, sometimes I pretend I am a criminal. I look around very carefully to make sure no one is watching, and then I grab a book and shove it in my library bag all sneaky-like. Just for the thrill. And then I check them out. It’s quite the rush.

Know what else is fun to pretend? That all of my books are overdue, and I’m all “Honey badger don’t pay fines.” The endorphins leave me a little shaky here. Play this game in moderation.

Know what’s not cool? Actual overdue books. Dude, some high school student may be waiting for that copy of To Kill A Mockingbird for schoolNot funny. Not funny at all.

39 thoughts on “A Truth To Tell

  1. I work circulation at our local library so this blog was especially funny to me! My library pet peeve? People who leave books open, pages down, cover up – drives me crazy!! Thanks for the chuckle.

  2. Oh, overdue books are my downfall. But I just tell myself, when paying the fines, “I’m making a donation to the library! What a good citizen I am.”

  3. Too funny! I’m one of those chronic-library-book-due-date-extenders. It’s a bad habit. In fact, I just extended the date on a book about meditation. This was after I spent 5 minutes yelling at my cat for ruining furniture, to which my husband responded “how’s that mediation book treating you?!” Smartass. 😉

  4. I am honored to nominate you for the One Lovely Blog Award! Please pick-up your award at http://sharechair.wordpress.com/. Copy and Paste the Award to your blog and follow the rules of acceptance. I am very aware that some people do not wish to participate in Awards, and I completely respect that… no strings! But in any case, Congratulations, you have a Lovely Blog 🙂

  5. You had me at Honey Badger…the boys and I are huge fans. As a library aide, I think I would bust out laughing if I saw you skulking around like that….but only since I’ve read this post…otherwise, I would probably think you had escaped from the “bin”. 😉

  6. Now that I have kids, I have overdue books all the time! It makes me insane. I am so not an overdue book type of person. But, cripes, my kids get about 1,000 books at a time and they stick them in toy boxes and in laundry hampers and it’s really a wonder that any of those books make their way back.

    But I do obsess about caring for them. I’ve taped ripped pages so carefully that the bookmaker herself would never know.

  7. My son didn’t get his report card because of an overdue library book… I STILL don’t know where that dang thing is at. He hid it well!

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

