Learn From My Mistakes

I’m really excited. Squish is finally old enough. Today is his very first day of camp at the zoo. This is a milestone in our household. For the next 11 years, he can be a zoo camper. He has had a sample of it already. When I get the opportunity to teach the toddler classes at the zoo during the school year, he comes with me. But this is the first time that we’re jumping in for five glorious days.

And here’s the mistake. Last night, I told him that our first day of camp is today. Can you guess who else is excited? And has absolutely no sense of time?

“Is it time to go to ZooCamp, Mommy? I’m ready.” “Not for three hours. Put some pants on, Pumpkin.”

 

What’s just as exciting is that next week, I will be teaching my own ZooCamp, this one for kids with special needs.  For the next couple of weeks, I won’t be around here much. I’ve got posts lined up and ready to go, but it may take me awhile to catch up on comments and on reading the amazing blogs I subscribe to. I can’t wait to see you all again and share all of my adventures! See you on the other side!

17 thoughts on “Learn From My Mistakes

  1. My son wakes up every morning with only one thing on his mind–“playground? playground? Playground?” No, honey we can’t go to the playground at 4:45 a.m.

  2. Just wanted to let you know that I thoroughly enjoy your blog!! Animals and kids are my two favorite things in life and you’ve been able to combine them and serve up some awesome reading! I’m also happy your fridge is back up and running. I crossed my fingers for those mice 😉 Have a great time at camp!!

  3. Yes, I can guess. I can also guess that it was not a particularly restful night for you. What exactly is zoo camp? I have never heard of such a concept. Anyway, I hope it is a great time for both you and Squish.

  4. Very cute photo. My little guy is five and going to start kindergarten in the fall. To bad we are almost a nation apart or I could see them tromping around together.

  5. With the kids AND Bailey, we never, ever, EVER announce something too early. Actually, Bailey is the worst one. Say the word “park” and you may as well drop what you’re doing and leave now — he won’t stop dancing and crying until you do!

    Have a great camp!

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

