Back In the Saddle

Big parts of my life have been on hold for over four years now, ever since Squish came to be. Before I got pregnant, I was working out at the gym for an hour and a half, at least three times a week. Instead of simply dropping back on my workouts, I quit altogether.

We used to go places. It was nothing for me to pack the car with kids and a few of their friends and have an overnight road trip. I barely remember those days. I’ve never met another toddler like Squish. We once visited a friend who had a toddler just a few months older than mine. I felt safe because her house must be child-proof, right?  As it turns out, there’s a difference between child-proof and Squish-proof. He showed his little buddy how to get into things it had never before occurred to her to mess with. That’s what friends do. We learned that it’s safer/easier/less life-threatening to stay home. For three and a half years.

My husband and I used to go on dates. We went to movies, had coffee, went for long walks and visited thrift stores. It’s hard to have together-time when there’s a hairless monkey hanging on your back. It’s tough to see a movie when you can’t find a babysitter with the courage to actually sit on the little maniac.

But now things are changing. Squish is growing up. I got brave, and we took him to an amusement park for the first time. With mixed results, but mostly good. We had our first overnight in a hotel without a near death experience or even a minor injury, and I’m thinking about doing it again. Though he can sleep on the floor next time. He had his first overnight at the zoo last week. I’ve started a new  little part-time job, and Squish is officially enrolled in preschool one day a week, and we may add another day really soon. I’ve got a couple of job possibilities in the hopper. I’m beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel. I’m back in the game people! Know what this means?

I’ll be knocked up by Christmas. Because that’s how life works.

Squish’s first overnight at the zoo!

34 thoughts on “Back In the Saddle

  1. My little one was a terror toddler. She’d scream bloody murder in supermarkets etc… Now, she’s a gem, and I can take her anywhere, it was school that helped. She’s intelligent, sounds like your little one is too (it takes a logically minded brain to scheme and get into things that other toddlers don’t think about) as soon as her brain got the stimulation it needed at pre school, she completely changed. It was the best thing I ever did. 🙂 xx

  2. Good luck with it, and welcome back! 😉 I found school to be absolutely fabulous for my kids at that age, too. All the difference in the world. New sets of boundaries equals intellectual stimulation in the right environment!

  3. Day care has been a godsend. It’s been great for mini-Speaker7, but even better for my sanity. There’s only so much “Mama-get-up”-so-I-can-watch-him-throw-a-truck-on-the-floor I can take. Here’s my advice to avoid pregnancy: read Fifty Shades of Grey.

  4. My kids were not so much terrors but I still felt many of the same feelings. I feel like I finally have some freedom and my mom keeps saying, “Don’t you want another one?” Um, no! Enjoy finding yourself again.

  5. Congratulations on your pregnancy! Yes, I know you’re not pregnant! Yet. But I always want to be the first one to say it.

    Seriously, I’m happy for you getting your life back in order! That must feel amazing. We’re just about there too. Phew. And now I’m finding myself scrolling through the local pet shelter web pages for the 6th addition to our brood. I’m a glutton for punishment.

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

