You Never Thought You’d See This On MY Blog!

I’m usually so predictable.You’ve come to expect certain things of me. I eat MoonPies, I…wait. What else do I do? Oh, yeah. I post pictures and stories of baby reptiles. Now I’m shaking things up. This morning, I ate a cupcake for breakfast, and now I bring you photos of baby mammals! It’s a mixed up, crazy world.

A friend of mine raises and shows English cocker spaniels. Last week, her lovely girl had a litter of much-anticipated puppies. Since my friend works full-time, I’m the puppy sitter! Long before I ever grew scales and a shell, I was a dog girl.

One day old and already knows how to take care of business.

Each pup is marked with a dab of nail polish (see, not so different from tortoises!), a different color for each pup. This is Green Girl.

The mom’s name is Lily. Doesn’t she have the most wonderful face?

All lined up at the lunch counter

The differences between baby reptiles and baby mammals are vast. Newborn mammals are helpless and completely dependent on their moms. Newborn puppies can’t even hear yet!

Look at how their ears are closed. They are less than a day old here. Ears and eyes don’t open for a couple of weeks.

If you watched Friday’s video, you’ve seen a tiny bog turtle, only a month older than these puppies, hunt down a cricket. Reptiles come into the world prepared to get the job done. Mammals don’t. They have to learn how to be the animals they are, and one of the ways they practice their mad mammalian skills is through play. Reptiles don’t play.

Right now, the puppies don’t play, either. They do a lot of this:

This is puppy at one week of age. Note the pigment that is now appearing on her nose. And the fuzz that is beginning to fill in on her muzzle makes her look out of focus, even in person.

But very soon, they will wake up and play. I can’t wait!

26 thoughts on “You Never Thought You’d See This On MY Blog!

  1. Oh, they are so adorable!!! I’ve always been more of a mammal girl. I mean, tiny anythings are cute, but reptiles don’t make me squee and use lots of exclamation points the way mammal babies do.

  2. I just might die from the cuteness. Makes me want a puppy! But if you want REAL cuteness overload…there’s a test. I’m posting it on my blog later today. I showed it to my seven-year-old daughter and her friend at a sleepover last weekend and they imploded from sheer joy.

  3. Pingback: One Decent Antidote for a Case of the Mondays is Cuteness Overload « Sappho's Torque

  4. Pingback: Easing You Into Monday « Becoming Cliche

  5. Pingback: Happy Things | Becoming Cliche

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

