Excuses, Excuses

I’m a terrible person. The last several weeks I have been really slow to respond to comments, and I am so far behind on blog reading. I even *gasp* missed posting two days last week. I can explain, really!

Excuse #1 I have been working! Like, seven days a week. I kid you not. The only day that I’m not actually working is Tortoise Day because that’s volunteer work. But it still means I’m gone for most of the day. I’ve picked up some extra hours at the zoo doing educational activities and programs. Need proof?

Me and Daru the blue tongued skink. Remind me to tell you about him sometime. He is so cool!

It’s about the most fun job there is outside of tortoise work. I get to teach people about animals that I love, and my coworker is the best! She took the picture and doctored it up for me.

Excuse #2 Puppies! My friend’s dog had a litter of beautiful puppies, and Squish and I sit for them during the day, at least three days a week. I know. It’s not actually work because they are so precious, but it’s something else that keeps me from home and my computer.

You’d skip a blog post or two for that face, wouldn’t you? You know you would.

 

Excuse #3 I’ve been writing! Like maybe-one-day-pay-the-bills-with-it kind of writing. I finished a prototype for a children’s book a couple of weeks ago and I’m planning several others. I was hoping to actually have the finished product to show you, but it is in transit. Sad face. I’m saving for a really good camera so that the photography for my kids’ books will be solid, hence all the working.

I’ve also been working some on my novel for people of the grown-up persuasion (I can’t bring myself to say “adult novel” because that sounds dirty and my work definitely is not). It’s slow going because I get in my own way, but it is taking shape. The characters live in my head all the time now and nag me quite a bit to finally commit them to paper.

Excuse #4 I’ve been sick. I have a weird illness that comes back to visit me when I least expect it, and it tends to stay for awhile. This time it hung out for two weeks. Two weeks. Half of September. Not that I am bitter or anything. I just need to take better care of myself so that it doesn’t sneak up on me again. Or maybe put a bell around it’s neck so I hear it coming like I used to do for my cat.

The important thing is that I’m here now, right? I’ve got some fun stuff lined up. I even have a secret that I am keeping. I can’t share it with my readers yet because it’s not my news to tell (I’m not pregnant, sj. Don’t even go there!), but I’ll spill as soon as I get the go-ahead.

I’m trying to catch up on all I’ve missed. It can’t take me longer than a decade, right? What’s new in your world?

20 thoughts on “Excuses, Excuses

  1. Wow, you are speaking my language. I get bogged down like this seasonally: we call those seasons Finals and Start Of School Term. Suckola. Hang in there. 🙂 I’m totally excited for you about your novel! Your other projects, too, and I’m loving the puppies pictures SO MUCH. Best of luck! 🙂

  2. Seems there’s something in the air. We all get behind, and I’m glad to know I share such good company. I’m hoping you are feeling better and I’m looking forward to the publication of your children’s book(s.)
    P.S. Cool skink! His/her coloring is awesome. Very different from our skinker.

  3. Ah well, from an-always-behind blogger I can relate. Hope you are feeling better. There is a nasty cold going around my office. I have stayed locked in my window-less room trying to avoid it.

    Puppies are fun, but we puppy-sat Freighter’s litter once and I was a nervous wreck. I am not cut out for that and applaud those that can do it. 🙂

  4. ARE YOU SURE YOU’RE NOT?

    😛

    Love you, miss you. Hope things settle down soon so we can go back to you listening to me whine all the time.

  5. 1. Don’t apologize for missing a blog posting. You’re doing it for fun, right? It shouldn’t feel like a duty. (Plus, sorry to tell you this but most people aren’t waiting with bated breath for anybody’s next blog posting.) 2. Doing HALF of what you’re doing would be exhausting for a normal human being. 3. Getting sick is nature’s way of telling you to take better care of yourself. I so relate because I tend to do the same: trying to do too much, wanting to do more, and having health problems as a result. Put on your own oxygen mask and then take care of the kids. The rest should get in line behind those two priorities, and if something falls by the wayside, so be it.

    • Never fear. I operate under no illusion that anyone is hanging on the edge of their seat waiting for me to appear in their inbox. My daily goal is for me alone, a writing and honing exercise. What I feel like a heel about is getting behind on responding to comments and reading other people’s blogs. But you are right. Priorities.

  6. I never try to post everyday. Life’s too crazy to promise that! It’s better to live now and write about it later, so we won’t hold it against you if you’re gone a few days. Especially since you returned with cute puppy pics. As for what’s new in my world, well, my latest post is full of the frantic fury that runs my life. KIDS-SPORTS-WORK-KIDS-PETS-COURT-KIDS, something like that….

  7. I can’t possibly post daily; don’t know how you do it. I have trouble with my 3 per week… and then the stats drop and I get all bummed out and think, “what’s the point?” If I had a zoo, a real one, I could find fun there, but alas… That said, what’s new? I am featured in a VERY cool new book called Tangerine Tango, with women writers (blog) that was released this week. I wrote about it briefly in my post yesterday and will write more tomorrow. I’m almost done editing my grown up novel and hope to so something with it, publish, by Jan.1. I’ve got a weird illness too, that knocks me down some days, but… My kids are bigger now, so things are a wee bit easier than for you, but I totally hear you! Take a deep breath, inhale some sweet puppy breath, and keep plugging! Don’t know how you do it all (I did too, but then resigned) but you’re doing a great job! (No cliches there) 😉

    • I couldn’t keep my pace long-term. No way. For some reason, though, it seems perfectly reasonable to take on a bunch of stuff if it’s only a few months duration. What is that about?!

      Congrats on your writing successes! I hope to be coming up behind you soon. Are you self-publishing or going through an agent?

      • Both for now. I’ve met with some well established, traditionally published authors and all advised self-publishig, IF you have excellent editing (I do), don’t rush it (I haven’t), and work hard (I will). Then, I will also look for an agent and seek traditional publishing. Apparently, it’s done a lot now. With new book out (Tangerine Tango), I can add that to my “platform,” success on the blog is big, and tenacity. Keep us posted! 🙂

  8. I’ve been behind on my blog reading and commenting. I wish I had as many good excuses as you. My excuse is mainly “it’s dark out earlier and a little chilly…yeah, I’m going to watch TV.”

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

