There Will Come a Day

There will come a day

When the baby that cries in the night

Will find solace.

And so will you.

Hang on.

.

There will come a day

When the tantrums in Target

Will be outgrown.

And you will be proud.

Hang on.

.

There will come a day

When the diapers

Turn into dust rags.

And the world will rejoice.

Hang on.

.

There will come a day

When the favorite bedtime stories

Collect dust on a shelf.

And they read under the covers to themselves.

Be proud.

.

There will come a day

When Thomas the Tank Engine

Gives way to Star Wars.

And a new generation is initiated.

Avoid Episode One.

.

There will come a day

When the toys under the Christmas tree

Are replaced by skateboards and electronics.

And your heart will grieve a little.

Remember.

.

There will come a day

When imaginary friends

Are made on Facebook.

And they will think they know it all.

Forgive them.

.

There will come a day

When you walk your little one into their first school

And the next day they graduate with honors.

And you will yearn.

Hold them tight.

.

Time is fleeting.

Hang on

To every moment.

Enjoy the magic moments, and go fishing with a stick

59 thoughts on “There Will Come a Day

  1. Amen. Tink is 14 and I find myself missing the 3 year old Tink. And the day when she leaves for college seems to be just around the corner . . . if I don’t strangle her over a Physical Science test score that is.

  2. And, if you’re very very lucky, there will come a time when you get to do it all over again with your grandchildren, and then you know how fleeting time really is.

  3. Beautifully written. I love the sentiment and the “words of wisdom” placed at the end of each stanza. I don’t have children, but I can appreciate (through nieces and nephews) how quickly they grow up and go on on their own. This is a great piece!

  4. I don’t want my 5 month old to get bigger!! It still feels like yesterday that she was born. It’s so bitter sweet to watch her mind grow a little every day and to see her grow in size… I don’t know how my parents did it with three of us…

    On another note, she’s been sleeping through the night since she was 3 weeks old. I didn’t realize how incredibly rare that was… haha

    This made me cry, and it’s beautifully written!

  5. Pingback: There Will Come a Day « notforallmarkets

  6. This touched me on so many levels. With my children about to turn 8,10, and 13…I get excited for their growth and independence, but when I actually think about what that means, I cry. Beautifully written! Thank you.

  7. BC: This is so beautiful! I teared up like the rest of your readers. Do you mind if I send a copy to my daughter? My grandson is four and my daughter is really your target audience. I want her to hang this up where she can read it everyday because it says it all. Take care. ET

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

