Oh, No! I’m a Week LATE!

On my giving thanks post. What did you think I meant? The turkey has digested, but the thankfulness is still around. Here’s my list.

1) Ding dong, the Twinkie’s dead. The first step in my diabolical plan to have MoonPies named King of the Snack Cakes.

2) Squish wants a homemade gift for Christmas. Sure, his wish is a baby sister, and he’ll be disappointed on Christmas morning, but I’m so proud that he isn’t feeding into this frenzy of rampant consumerism.  Actually, maybe he is. He keeps asking me to call the baby store to see if his baby sister is in. I tried to explain about Black Friday, but I’m not sure he understands.

3)  Our weekend after Thanksgiving was spent hiking. We went from an environment where we were grateful that there were fewer than 20 people in line ahead of us at the register to feeling a little crowded when we saw six people on the trail.

He could have used that stick at the mall. Why didn’t I think of that?

.

4) We will not have to visit the mall and wait in endless lines to meet Santa. Because Squish is still afraid the fat guy in the red suit is going to eat him.

5) My NaNo project has turned into TWO projects. And I’ll dig in right after the holidays. I’m still writing, but I have some time-sensitive projects that need to get done soon. And they’re projects that I enjoy, so there’s that to be thankful for, too.

6) The kids aren’t too big yet.

There might be room in here for a baby sister, no? The correct answer is NO!

 

What’s on your gratitude list?

21 thoughts on “Oh, No! I’m a Week LATE!

  1. Whenever my husband and children get baby fever, I remind them that I promised to jump off a bridge if I were pregnant. (8 is too much, 7 is more than enough.) The thought of having no one to bake their brownies typically removes baby fever pretty quickly!

  2. Hmmm, maybe instead of telling him about Black Friday you should educate Squish on the real goings-on of procreation. You know, tiny eggs and hatchlings etc. Or leave it to the older ones to tell him how nice it is to have a pregnant mom.

    I love the pile-up at the bottom too. Really good family pictures are so hard to come by. Shame the father had to be behind the lens.

  3. I participated in this thing this month, inspired by a friend of mine, on Facebook called 30 Days of Gratitude. I basically came up with one thing each day to be grateful about and posted it. I won’t keep posting after tomorrow, but I will try to keep reminding myself of the things I’m grateful for. It was nice. 🙂 Yesterday my post was that I’m grateful the view from the windows of my classroom is garnet and gold leaves against a crisp turquoise sky.

  4. I told you about that Twinkie did I not? I am sure a Chinese company will buy up the recipe so the Twinkie will not be long gone. Watch out Moon Pie.

    I am thankful I did not win the Power Ball lottery. It would have messed with my blogging time and then I would never get caught up. 🙂

  5. You are adorable 🙂 I’m thankful for your optimism about the Twinkie. It’s refreshing after listening to many, many people complaining about its death. Happy Thanksgiving!

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

