I Hereby Call This Meeting to Order!

Come into my secret clubhouse!  Okay, I know it’s just a sheet draped over a couple of kitchen chairs, but it’s a 700 thread count. Only the best for you! But don’t get Oreo crumbs all over the place because my mom will kill me!

You want to be in my club? It’s a book club. You know what the best part is? You don’t have to read anything. Because you already did! Is that cool or what? Consider yourself cordially invited to the From the Bowels of Obscurity Children’s Book Club.

My pal sj and I were talking the other day about some of our favorite reads as kids. That no one living seems ever to have heard of. We compared notes.

My elementary school library had a tiny budget and didn’t get in a lot of new books, so the shelves were bursting with titles that these days rank fewer than 20 ratings on Goodreads.  As a voracious reader too young to drive herself to the public library, I consumed most of them. And I liked it fine. It never occurred to me that the things I was reading were not on every kid’s book shelf. My books were my friends.

And since you’re my friend, too, I thought I could introduce you guys. Here’s where the club part comes in. sj and I are going to co-host it. I’ll do a post one week, and then she’ll do one the following week.

Here’s how you play if you want to.

Write a post about a few books you loved as a kid that are kind of obscure. How obscure is up to you. If you loved Nancy Drew and there was a title in the series you adored that no one you know has ever heard of, count it! Love a book that was written by your next door neighbor on construction paper? Tell us about it! Try to limit yourself to 1-4 books per post. We don’t want the club to fizzle out too soon, right?

Age range is flexible. From story books to teen, whatever you loved before you were old enough to vote counts.

Get personal. If straight reviews are your thing, go for it. Even better, though, is sharing what the book actually meant to you. Why did you love it? Do you remember the first time you read it or how you found it in the first place? Did you leave a Doritos smudge on the page of a favorite you borrowed from the library? I suffer from incurable nosiness, and I love those kinds of stories!

Add a trackback to the host post for the week. If you’re new to WordPress, that may sound complicated. It’s not. All you have to do is include a link to the host post somewhere in your post. Then the link to yours will appear in a neat little list of links at the bottom of the host post, and we can all find one another’s posts.

Participate at your own pace. Life got you too busy next week? Feel free to jump in any time. You’ll be able to find trackbacks to the latest post at the bottom of this one. And if you don’t want to do an entire blog post, share your obscure favorites in the comments section.

Read the posts of the other participants. You never know what treasure you’ll find!

If you’re on Goodreads, why not rate the book over there? You don’t have to review it, but if you loved it, throw it some stars! Who knows? Maybe you’ll get a buzz going and bring new life to your old favorite!

That’s all there is to it. You are free to read any book that piques your curiosity, but you don’t have to. And you can even blog about your discovery. But you don’t have to. The real name of the game here is sharing. Because sharing is nice. Except when it’s my MoonPies. Hands off.

42 thoughts on “I Hereby Call This Meeting to Order!

  1. Hm, I have to mull this over. Now that we have a baby, I’m discovering that pretty much all my books as a kid were fairly obscure. Dr. Seuss? No, none of that. Goodnight Moon? Hm, never read it.

  2. I love this idea. I just finished a class for my Master’s degree on children’s literature and all of the books discussed in the class were ones I had never heard of. I live in Scotland, but grew up in the States, so I am sure that had something to do with it, but the books I was exposed to were fascinating reads.

    • I’ll do a post next week where I share actual books. You can link your post to that one, or send me the link and I’ll add it manually. Then the link will appear on my page and people can find your post.

  3. I am in. Just to whet your appetite for the kind of awesome writing I will be sharing, I will now review the book I wrote in fourth grade about a kid who had pimples full of chocolate: this is just the kind of drivel only a kid with a fixation on toilet humor could write. The author will make a great blogger someday.

  4. This sounds like so much fun! I can only think of one off the top of my head that I think is obscure, but I’ll do some digging. Can’t wait to read the first posts! (And post my first one).

  5. This sounds great, but I was a child too long ago to remember the names of them. I remember reading the Little Golden books, every Nancy Drew mystery I could get my hands on & all the Brady Boys books. There was a book about twins, a boy & a girl, that was a series & I really liked them too but for the life of me I can’t remember the names.

  6. This sounds fun. I don’t know if I read anything obscure, but I did read a mountain of cheesy series like Sweet Valley High, Seniors, Cheerleaders, Other Lame Archetypes from High School.

  7. I am not even new to wordpress and have no idea what a trackback is,or maybe I do but I don’t know that I do. Life is like that sometimes! love the idea, Going on a Bear Hunt is my favourite book to read to little kids, my children still quote it! I know i am supposed to write a blog post but just in case life gets in the way! have a lovely day.. c

  8. This is such a cool idea! The first book that popped into my mind is Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH. It’s supposedly popular, but I’ve never met anyone who’s read it.

    I also read all of these morbid ‘romance lost’ type books targeted at teens that all had someone dying. Looking back, that seems REALLY morbid, but there were dozens and dozens in the series.

  9. I love this idea! I’ve thought of featuring books on my blog but have never gotten around to it. This is even better! I still have a post that has been in draft form since 2011 on the 1950s book You Will Go to the Moon. This might motivate me to get it done.

  10. I love this idea! I’ll try to find some of the books I read as a kid. I was a pretty weird kid, though. Our family went to the beach every summer and I was allowed a bag full of whatever I wanted. I chose books, comic books, pencils, and a notebook. Who needs toys, right when you have reading and writing materials?

  11. One of my favorite obscure books as a kid was my mom’s old copy of A Bunch of Cherries, about girls at a boarding school. Still love it, I found it again for my kindle. I think it had to do with the day they were all dressing up for an event and everyone wanted cherry colored ribbons for their dresses…le sigh. Little girls dream book. 🙂

  12. Pingback: “…inside that peach stone is a tree, folded a million times. So go and plant it.” | Postcards from La-La Land

  13. Pingback: “Dreeb! Dreeb! I am the Fuse Box Dwarf!” | snobbery

  14. Pingback: “Dreeb! Dreeb! I am the Fuse Box Dwarf!” | snobbery

  15. Pingback: It’s a bird…it’s a plane…it’s a CAT WITH WINGS! | Postcards from La-La Land

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

