It’s A Phase, Right?

I am exhausted. Right now, every tiny thing turns into a senseless argument, even stuff that’s been part of the regular routine for the entire year. It’s a constant struggle to get things done. I don’t understand. My conversations go like this:

“Time to get up!”

“I don’t wanna!”

“Get up. Now”.

*screaming tantrum commences*

Or this:

“Here’s your lunch!”

“I’m not eating that.”

“You like carrots and broccoli. You love salad.”

“No. I want McDonald’s.”

“Forget it.”

*screaming tantrum commences*

Or even this:

“Time for walkies!”

“NO! I don’t wanna go!”

“C’mon! You love to go for walks!”

“No! I won’t!”

“Get up now!”

“NO! You can’t make me! I’m gonna sit here aaaallllll day long!”

“We’re going. Get up.”

*screaming tantrum commences*

I know logically that this phase will pass. One day, I will grow up and do the things that I know are good for me. One day. ย But for now, don’t you tell me what to do!ย  Because I don’t wanna! You can’t make me!

I think I may need a time out, or a nap. They tell you about the Terrible Twos, but no one thinks to warn us about the Terrible Forties.

42 thoughts on “It’s A Phase, Right?

  1. Don’t worry, I’m totally having the Terrible Mid-Twenties. I don’t get it, either. Maybe I’m just imbalanced. Great post…definitely relating to it lately ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Well you just wait for the Fury Fifties, by then you will be practised enough to pack a REAL tantrum, now pick up your clothes, i haven’t seen your floor in months! c

  3. When reading this, I thought, how sad – As kids we’re DENIED McDonald’s but in our 40s we can no longer really “have” McDonald’s (bad for our health), Wow, I feel a temper tantrum coming on, too. Great post. Hope recovery’s going well. (Carrots and broccoli aside.)

    • Agreed. When our metabolism can actually handle to fat and calories, no one will give it to us.

      I love carrots and broccoli. I hate being told I have to eat low fat. I’m thinking NO FAIR!

  4. ha! Great ending. We should open a business with padded walls where 40 somethings can go and throw tantrums when they need to get it out! ๐Ÿ™‚

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

