The One Where I Shock My Readers

You opened the post. I’m so glad I didn’t scare you away. Do you ever find comfort in the sameness of things, of knowing exactly what to expect, be it reading a blog or ordering your same vanilla latte every Friday morning from the same employee at the same little coffee shop? Yeah, me, too. And sometimes you walk in to that coffee shop on a Thursday, or that familiar face has been replaced by someone you’ve never seen before, and it’s jarring. The safe place has been compromised. Brace yourselves. The battlements have been breached.

You come here to see this:

Pyxis planicauda. One of the rarest of the Malagasy dwarf tortoises. Critically endangered. Hatched this week. You're welcome.

Pyxis planicauda. One of the rarest of the Malagasy dwarf tortoises. Critically endangered. Hatched this week. You’re welcome.

 

But today, I bring you this. Click to enlarge them. I double-dog dare you!

 

I know. They’re mammals, not reptiles. Sometimes I need to shake things up.  I do hope you’ll forgive me.

 

*** Just so’s you know, these aren’t my puppies. I have the privilege of puppy-sitting for a friend. Photographing newborn puppies? Sure, twist my arm, why don’t you?

66 thoughts on “The One Where I Shock My Readers

  1. What kinda pups are they? Did I tell you I have a painted turtle in China called Sparky. Two, actually. My grandma was taking care of Sparky for me, and he ran away so she bought another one thinking I wouldn’t notice, then Sparky came back. Grandma’s caregiver keeps wanting to cook them.

    • I was supposed to be, but her labor was long. She came over from Finland a few weeks ago, and she is still getting used to things here. I was afraid my presence was disrupting the process. She got things moving about an hour after I left. She knows me now, so if she does it again in a couple of years, I hope to be there then!

  2. Such cute puppies! And so is the tortoise, of course. I noticed a date on the egg of 09/09/12. Is that the date the egg was laid? When did it hatch? Just the facts ma’am, just the facts . . .

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

