The One Where I Keep a Promise. And Use the Word Bowels.

You may remember that sj and I started a book club, one you might even want to join. Welcome to the first official meeting. From the Bowels of Obscurity Children’s Book Club is now in session!

It has been a while. I had big plans, but then I got sick and was too concerned with my actual bowels and various other body parts to do much with a book club. But I’m back, baby, and I’m ready to roll!

Anyone is welcome to join. It’s easy to participate. Have some favorite books from childhood? You can either write a post, or share with us in the comments. If you write a post of your own and include pingback by including a link to this post, your post link will appear at the bottom of this one, and we’ll be able to find and read other participating blogs.

I’m not big on rules, but the main one is that the books you track back should be ones you read as a kid. There are tons of great books hitting shelves everyday. This club is for dusting off the old ones that might have gotten buried. Unless you are an actual kid, under 18, in which case you are free to share your more recent faves.

And now the moment you’ve all been waiting for! *insert drum roll here*

Victoria

First book like this I ever read.

When I was a kid, I read the old standbys. I devoured Superfudge and rolled around in the Ramona series. But I also liked stalking the shelves for books none of my classmates had read. There was nothing I loved more than finding a book that hadn’t been checked out in ten years. This was one. I may, in fact, have been the only kid to ever check it out.

It was my first real taste of historical fiction, taking place at the very beginning of the Great Depression. That’s all I can tell you without giving too much away. This book still gives me chills. I gave an oral book report on it, and I got my first B+ because the teacher thought I gave away the ending. Little did she know.

MiltonI love this book. We received it in the mail from Weekly Reader. I remember my mom tucking me in bed and reading it to me. The words were simple, and the illustrations were adorable.

Fast forward 35 years and all my experience with dogs and the adult in me is shocked to pieces! <spoiler alert> What do you mean Milton knocked up the Great Dane next door?! He’s a year old! Anybody ever heard of hip dysplasia? Has he CERF’d? What about his patellas? Get responsible when you breed, people! Oh, yeah. I found a copy to read to my kids. Because it’s still precious.

And last, but definitely not least:

caleb

My favorite time in elementary school was library time. Long after we had graduated from picture books, our librarian found great things to read to us. This was one.

It’s the story of two brothers growing up in the Ozarks. Since the library only had one copy, none of us were allowed to check it out during the six weeks or so she was reading it to us. Waiting to get my hands on it nearly killed me. I was first on the list to check it out. I squirreled it away in my backpack and rushed home to savor every tidbit in my own comfortable bed.

I found the sequel at the public library, and it was like my birthday had come early. It’s as delicious as the original, but freakishly hard to find. I made a few half-hearted bids for it on Ebay over the years, but my limit was $30, which was over a hundred bucks shy of the winning bid every time. Imagine my surprise when I discovered a copy in the free bin at my favorite used book store.

If there’s a book you’re looking for, keep wishing. It will hear your heart and come find you one day.

Now it’s your turn! What’s on your favorites list? Don’t feel pressured to get them all in one post. I haven’t even scratched the surface of personal favorites. We can pace ourselves!

Some folks are way ahead of the game and have already shared some of their childhood favorites with us. Be sure to check them out!

Meet Nerija. Check out her reviews here and here.

And there’s Amy, who shared some goodies with us over at sj’s place!

And last but not least, pay a visit to M and to see her favorite kids’ books!

 

If you’re on Goodreads, you are welcome to join the club over there, too! Click the widget over on the bottom left. It will take you there.

30 thoughts on “The One Where I Keep a Promise. And Use the Word Bowels.

  1. Great. I am surly going to participate in this activity. The only book I have read as a kid is “Pollyanna”. And what a positive effect it has on my thinking! Surly going to share my review on the book. And also recommend every one to read that if you haven’t yet.

    – Prerak.

  2. I can’t think of anything I read that was obscure, but one of my favorites was “Are You My Mother?” Not because I actually liked the book so much when I was the right age for it (maybe I did, I don’t remember) but because of memories of reading it to my little brother. He just loved it. Especially the part where the baby bird comes up to a big construction shovel and asks if it’s his mother… and then the shovel makes a big noise, and the baby bird’s like, “You are not my mother! You are a Snort!” So many giggles.

    And then he turned into a jerkface and we didn’t get along for about 15 years. But we’re good now.

  3. “The White Bunny and His Magic Nose” was a favorite for young children during World War II. It was written by Lily Duplaix and published by Simon and Schuster in 1945. Great for kids who are kinesthetic learners as the animals have fuzzy fur to rub. The white rabbit is a very proud rabbit. He learns a good lesson in the end and everyone lives happily ever after. Just the kind of ending I love.

  4. Funny that you’ve written this post today. Yesterday, I picked up the Chronicles of Narnia for no particular reason and started reading them. I’m enjoying them so much and remembering how earnestly I wished I was a centaur when I was younger and lived in constant surprise that I wasn’t one yet!

  5. LOL I had flashbacks to grade school. We were not allowed to check out Charlie and the Chocolate Factory until the teacher was finished reading it to us. (Do I date myself?) I found it at my city library and thought I had hit the lotto. Of course there was no lotto then, but I am positive the feeling was the same.

  6. Aww, thanks for the Pingbacks! 🙂
    When I look at the cover of Is Milton Missing from a distance (i.e. without zooming in), the dog’s expression looks all sly and smug, like he’s thinking, “Oh, I had a reeeeal good time while I was ‘missing'” 😉

  7. Pingback: “…inside that peach stone is a tree, folded a million times. So go and plant it.” | Postcards from La-La Land

  8. Pingback: It’s a bird…it’s a plane…it’s CATWINGS! | Postcards from La-La Land

  9. Cool idea and love a new club. I read the standard classics (I never read books like Ramona, Sweet Valley High or Are you there god, it’s me…) and one of my mothers books called A Bunch of Cherries was a favorite. It was about girls in a boarding school, a cherry festival, a contest/competition between the girls for a scholarship, cheating and cherry colored ribbons. I think it was the food reference that drew me in.. hahaha. It’s out of print I believe but I found a free e-copy for my kindle somewhere online.

  10. You are a librarian’s dream student. I can’t tell you how crestfallen I feel when I’m enthusiastically hawking a kick ass book and the kid is like “meh.”

  11. I didn’t get to read the ‘classic’ children’s books until I was an adult. My husband read them all to me in bed; The Narnia Chronicles, The Hobbit, Lord of the rings, Swallows and Amazons. Wind in the Willows, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, The Borrowers, The Secret Garden, The Railway Children, Travels with My Aunt, etc. It was the sexiest thing EVER! And I still love him to bits for doing that for me, even though he is no longer here.

    My big romance with books started early but it was Enid Blyton’s Secret Seven and The Famous Five books that transported me to a very special place. Being a tom-boy, I SO wanted to be George from the Famous Five and become a master sleuth with an off-sider dog called Timmy.

    Ah, those were the days, my friend 🙂

  12. Pingback: Harriet the Spy – From the Bowels of Obscurity Book Club #1 | S.Owens Writes

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

