Of Cats and Bags and Accountability

So, like everybody else on the planet, I made a few goals. Goals are nothing without action, and action comes only with accountability. Or something supercilious like that. Basically, I have happy things to share, so bear with me.

One of these goals was to be more intentional about my eating. The Christmas season was a culinary free-for-all, and I’m paid for it in the end. My giant back end. There that is. Christmas technically lasts until January 6th, so I had a whole bunch of days before dealing with that one. But I have. I am eating a good breakfast every morning. And I must tell you that Belgian waffles with chocolate chips and whipped cream is a good breakfast. I would venture so far as to say it’s a great breakfast. What? Don’t look at me like that. There were strawberries, too. And some powdered sugar, and… I digress. Anyway, intentional eating has been a success.

I’m being very conscious about my to-be-read list. It grows smaller daily. Mostly because I refuse to add anything else to it for a while. I am making a little headway. It’s hard to divide time between crazily devouring pages and crazily creating words of my own. But I have not brought anything home that I didn’t add to my TBR list. In fact, I have taken very little out of the free bin at my favorite used bookstore. And that, my friends, is progress. The bin is bigger than a coffin and has been stuffed to the brim with free books. FREE BOOKS! I have come to understand that free isn’t actually free, since it costs me bookshelf space to store. If I don’t have a reasonable intention to read the book in the next couple of months, back it goes. It’s almost like I’m growing up. I said almost. Don’t be afraid.

And here’s my most exciting top secret news. I had planned/hoped/dreamed/wished  to finish my current manuscript within the first couple of months of the new year. And  (drumroll, please) now (Helloooo? Where’s my drumroll? Desk, head, keyboard. I’m not picky. That’s better. Thanks!) it’s done. The first draft, of course. It’s warty and ugly and not fit for human consumption (yet), but it’s finished. I’ll be moving into rewrites and beta-reading over the next few weeks, which is more exciting than I thought it would be.

But am I content? No. I’m so ready to start another project! My husband thinks I should blog for a little while instead, but I think that’s mostly because he knows if I get involved in another book project immediately, we will never finish Downton Abbey. He’s probably right.

I have a new goal, too. I want to rework my blog page and add some drop down menus and categories. This one will take me a while because I’m not sure I can make that happen on this theme. Changes are coming. It’ll be fun!

So how is your list coming along?

Oh, yeah. The title promised a cat. I meant it figuratively, as in letting out a secret , but when I looked at my latest upload of photos, there were 107 new ones, mostly of my cats. It seems I am missing Piper more than I thought, and my way of dealing with it is to take a blue-million snaps of the two cats we have left. Meet Kisses. Until I work through losing Piper, you’ll probably be seeing a lot of her.

This is me every morning in winter. Every, single one.

This is me every morning in winter. Every, single one.

41 thoughts on “Of Cats and Bags and Accountability

  1. Is her name really Kisses? That is the cutest name I have ever heard. Congrats on your first draft! HUGE accomplishment. So huge! I hope you have a less-than-miserable time on the revisions 🙂

    WordPress themes are fun to shop around with. There are soooo many great new ones! I can’t wait to see what you do with your site!

    • Her name really is Kisses. Makes her sound delicate and tiny when she’s actually enormous.

      I am a little excited about theme shopping. I have ideas for what I want to do. We’ll see if I can make them happen!

  2. First draft finished eh? We want to hear about when it is published! No more free books, blog redesigns etc until then, K? Joking aside, you must be rather pleased. Kisses is gorgeous – if this is what it takes you to get through losing Piper, nobody will complain.

  3. Big congratulations on finishing the first draft! You are an inspiration 🙂 I think you’ll enjoy shopping blog themes. I always end up changing mine every two-three months. They say that’s bad for readership, but I can’t help myself. I get really tired of it and I’m like MUST CHANGE NOW.

  4. My favorite pet. No dogs. Just a cat. It is totally independent. And couldn’t give a shit less if we’re around as long as she can get in and out of the house and be fed. My kind of guest!

  5. Kisses is beautiful – I’m sorry to hear about Piper 😦

    I’m so jealous and excited you have finished your first draft!!! That is fantastic news!! What a great start to the year 🙂

    • Thank you. I miss the old lady.

      Finishing the draft really is an awesome start to the year. Three weeks in, and I’m done with my first one. Can’t wait to see what the rest of the year brings!

  6. You’re an inspiration to me! I changed my blog theme in January, too. I’ve finally started to blog a little bit more. And I too have started my intentional eating regimen. My intent is to avoid sweets. My intent is to not drive myself nuts with weighing myself frequently. You’re off to a great start, girl.

    • I need to do another sugar detox. I guess I’ll start tomorrow since I ate a MoonPie for breakfast today!

      I agree on not weighing. I always got too bogged down and tied up in what it said. The wrong number could ruin my whole day.

  7. My intention seems to be to eat everything in sight, as long as it has absolutely no redeeming health value. I decided to only set goals I know I can reach – guaranteed success!

  8. Congratulations on all your accomplishments! Hey, strawberries are totally healthy, and I think they have antioxidents? Maybe? Dark fruits are supposed to be very good for you, anyway. So high five!

    I’m sorry about Piper. I hope Kisses and the other kitty will give you a lot of extra loving to help with the loss.

    Hugs.

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

