An Open Letter On My First Day Back To Work

Hey, Sweetie,

Today’s the day. I’m so sorry. I’ve been home with you for over a week now, and it has been so great. I’ve had a good time being with you. You surprise and amaze me all the time. You make me laugh.

I hate to leave you. I love my job so much, and I’m not sorry that it’s there waiting for me, but it breaks my heart that going to work means I have to leave you behind.

Don’t give me that look. There’s nothing I can do about it. Nothing lasts forever, vacations chief among them. Besides, Dad will be here all day. All day! You guys can play. He loves to play! You just have to remind him when it’s time to eat. He’s skinny and sometimes he forgets.

You’ll have fun. You’ll see. The time will go so fast, and I’ll be home before you know it. You won’t even have time to miss me. When I get home, I’ll give you a big hug, and it’ll be our turn to play!

Cheer up, dear one. I’ll see you soon.

Love, Mom

Who did you think I was talking to? Squish did a dance when I was leaving this morning.

Who did you think I was talking to? Squish did a dance when I was leaving this morning.

 

.

15 thoughts on “An Open Letter On My First Day Back To Work

  1. Aw, yes! Coming home to Dumbcat every day is still a treat I’ve never gotten over. He’s always so happy to see me! It might be because I’m the dispenser of the treats and the pettings…but still! SO HAPPY TO SEE ME!

    • I know. Who cares the reason?

      Pixel wants me to hold her like a baby when I get home after being gone all day. Even if other people are there. She goes limp like spaghetti and gives a happy sigh. Am I a crazy cat-lady yet?

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

