This Might Be the Strangest Thing I’ve Ever Seen

I see weird things. When you work in a zoo or have kids, weird becomes a way of life.

Chameleons who have outgrown the tiny branches scrunches down like baby Huey so it’ll fit? Nah, that’s normal.

Go play in the big yard, kid. You're not a toddler anymore!

Go play in the big yard, kid. You’re not a toddler anymore!

Memorial auto decals?

A generic decal with an oddly specific lifespan. 2003 was a bad year for 16 year-old hog enthusiasts.

A generic decal with an oddly specific lifespan. 2003 was a bad year for 16 year-old hog enthusiasts. I do not like. Source

Yes, weird. I haven’t changed my mind. But not the weirdest. I just saw something that took the taco when it comes to the inexplicable.

I was walking in a park I’ve visited a dozen times or more, and tonight for the first time, I noticed this. Click to enlarge. It’s still a terrible picture, but you can see it better.

A head. On a wooden post. Just a head.

A head. On a wooden post. Just a head.

Need a closeup? Brace yourself.

I'm frightened

Hold me, Mommy!  I’m SCARED!

I walked around this… I don’t know what to call it. Statue? Obelisk? Travesty? I’ll go with that one… and I walked around it some more. I thought I was tired, or maybe someone had slipped some drugs in my Fiber One snack cake. (Shut up. They’re tasty, and who doesn’t like to poop?) But no. It’s a head mounted on a post.

A nice plaque rests right in front identifying the disembodied head as that of a former mayor. Questions. I have questions.

  • Was it sculpted out of play-doh by a class of preschoolers? The stump neck has too many thumb prints for my comfort.
  • Could they not afford a whole statue? Did they, perhaps, buy it on time? Will the torso arrive this Christmas?
  • Is this statue a warning to the surrounding counties as to what happens when you cut the library budget?
  • Did the former mayor step down, or was he cut down in a battle with a goblin?
  • Was his successor Vlad the Impaler?

 

I know bronze work is expensive, but maybe save some money and plant a nice tulip garden instead? Just a suggestion.

What weird things have you seen this week?

31 thoughts on “This Might Be the Strangest Thing I’ve Ever Seen

  1. That IS strange. Who would think to prop a head up on a pole?

    “We only have one day to make a memorial for the mayor. Any ideas?” ….. “Oh, I know! Let’s form a head out of play-doh and then stick it on a pole in the middle of the park!” A little disturbing, wouldn’t they think? Great for Halloween, I guess, but for a nice walk in the park…no. That’s too creepy.

  2. WHO GOES WITH TULIPS WHEN COMMEMORATING HOW THEIR MAYOR FACED THE MIGHTY WARRIOR TRIXNEE FARTISTER IN BATTLE ONLY TO LOSE HIS HEAD TO THE GOBLIN QUEEN?!!

    I’m just sayin’. Sometimes tulips ain’t gonna cut it.

  3. The stuff of lore and nightmares… did they not think of the children? Or maybe it is only the first of many “headposts” to be put up to designate an adults only park? And maybe it was designed by the same creative genius that came up with new Snickers commercial with the horseless headsman…

  4. Yep, that’s weird! The oddest thing I’ve seen recently was a toilet on the lawn of a decent house in a very nice neighborhood. It was there for months. Never any explanation. Neighbors finally complained enough to the police that the homeowner finally removed it. He was from a foreign country. Maybe it had significance where he was from. Who knows?

  5. “I know bronze work is expensive, but maybe save some money and plant a nice tulip garden instead? Just a suggestion.”

    At first glance, I read this as “I know BOOZE WORK is expensive…”

    That’s probably the weirdest thing I’ve seen in a while. That, or I need to lay off on the booze work myself.

    Finally have some time to catch up on your posts. Hope you’re doing well, Heather!

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

