Join Me In #PitchWars 2016. My Bio

To all of my writer friends who have a manuscript… you need to do this, too. #PitchWars is a competition where mentors select writers whose manuscript they will read and critique to get it ready for querying. Yeah, for real. So write a bio, join the blog hop, polish up that manuscript, and get ready to enter the competition on August 3rd.

Without further ado, allow me to introduce myself.

I’m Heather. I started writing decades ago, and I’m still at it.

snapegif

Those early works are hidden in my basement. My husband and I have been married for 21 years. When we’re married for 21 more, I might let him read them. But probably not. I think I’m more likely to strip naked and take a poop in a public square than ever let those manuscripts see the light of day.

I am a full time zookeeper in the Herpetology department of Zoo Knoxville. I love my job. I work with all the creepy crawly things, many of them critically endangered. Here’s a link to a Facebook Live event the zoo did with my hatching Madagascar Northern Spider Tortoises.

Every day at work is my best day.

Chinese Alligator waiting for her physical. I am in love with this animal. Her feet are squishy. Who knew?!

Chinese Alligator waiting for her physical. I am in love with this animal. Her feet are squishy. Who knew?!

Click to enlarge any of the following images.

I incorporate real-life experiences in my novels whenever I can, which is more often than you might think, considering only two of my six manuscripts have a character working in a zoo setting. The case of the missing ferret? Yeah, it’s in there. Crazy Harry Potter Lady? She’s in there, too. Not that there’s anything wrong with Harry Potter. I did this to my kid once:

And I'm not sorry.

And I’m not sorry. Also, I’m still waiting for my Hogwarts letter.

But that lady was cra-zy. It made for a good story, though.

In my spare time, I’m also a computer teacher for grades Kindergarten-8th. For the last two years, I have taken grades 2-8 through the adventures of NaNoWriMo. I had six finishers this year, the youngest in the fourth grade. I love how caught up in the adventure most of the kids get, and some of them have unlocked a passion for writing. That right there is the best feeling.

Books I have read recently:

The Hunger Games (I’m letting my kids choose my reading list for summer, so I’ll be adding Eragon and The Things They Carried next)

To Know a Fly – the best book on applied science I have ever read

Business With Pleasure – the second in a series about a character I adore. I got a review copy form the author. It’s an urban fantasy/romance

Undead on Arrival – my first zombie apocalypse novel because I am pushing myself to read outside of my comfort zone

The Killing Kind – I love Chris Holm’s urban fantasy, and this thriller lives up to his previous work

Favorite Authors:

Jasper Fforde

Rosamunde Pilcher

Jim Butcher

J.K. Rowling – not just the HP series. A Casual Vacancy was haunting in a totally different way.

My current novel:

It’s an adult fiction piece. After the accident, Jodi gives up what she once loved. But is she creating a new life for herself, or is she hiding from her past? I loved writing this book so much that the sequel poured out in 12 glorious days. I’ve shelved the third book for now because I want to polish the first one and get it market-ready.

And as Forrest Gump would say,

 

If you have any questions about me, let ’em fly, either in the comments section or on Twitter.

Be sure to visit the other writers in the blog hop and jump in here with me. Unmitigated terror loves company, or something like that.

 

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

27 thoughts on “Join Me In #PitchWars 2016. My Bio

  1. Your dog looks very sophisticated — I love it. Good luck in PW and look forward to getting you know you along the way!

  2. Dear #PitchWars
    Here is a writer with books that should be at the top of your list. Outstanding writing, unique experiences/perspectives, wonderful sense of humor and readers dying to read them!

  3. Well, you’ve certainly inspired me to join in the fun! Thank you for putting this on my radar. By the way, I am so glad you mentioned Jasper Fforde – I always recommend his books to the quirky people in my life who are looking for recommendations.

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

