It’s hard to be brave

Kids are weird. Anyone who tries to tell you differently is kind of missing the whole magic of childhood.

Anyway, I’ve lost my share of sleep dealing with odd things.

Padawan_001

The Padawan looking innocent. I assure you, he is not.

This one? He used to get me out of bed to complain that his stuffed shark, Hammer, was singing to him. Don’t suggest that he let Hammer sing him to sleep either. “You don’t understand,” the Padawan would lament, night after night. “He’s singing jazz!” Touché, little man.

And this one?

The Girl-child, back in the day. But not ALL the way back in the day because those photos are on old fashioned negatives.

The Girl-child, back in the day. But not ALL the way back in the day because those photos are on old fashioned negatives.

She used to scream that Sharp Tooth was coming to get her. Sharp Tooth? The T-Rex from that adorable fright-fest, “The Land Before Time?”

So here’s a new one on me.

“There’s a werewolf!”

“Uh, we talked about this before. There’s no such thing as werewolves.”

“I saw one.”

“It’s not a werewolf.”

“WEREWOLF!”

“Where?”

“There!”

“I don’t see it!”

“There! Just now! It moved!”

“I see it. It’s not a werewolf.”

“No, THAT OVER THERE! WEREWOLF!”

“Not.”

“IS!”

“Baby, for the last time, it’s not a werewolf. I know it’s not a werewolf. That’s the dog.”

NOT a werewolf. Despite what you may have heard to the contrary.

NOT a werewolf. Despite what you may have heard to the contrary.

“You sure?”

“I’m really, really sure, Ravenclaw.”

I don't think she believes me.

I don’t think she believes me.

 

16 thoughts on “It’s hard to be brave

  1. Hahahaha! Poor Ravenclaw!
    We have a cat whom, contrary to the owners before us, is terrified of our poor dogs. She attacked our old dog so badly that she was dripping blood from her face and chest. I still have scars from breaking up that bloodbath!

  2. I don’t know if this will reach you. For some reason, your website will not let me comment because my old website keeps getting in the way, so here goes: You are a beautiful writer. Your previous one something like, “this might be the last time,” brought tears to my eyes and I’m not even a parent. You have a gift. I love reading your posts. ** Robin Skone-Palmer ** follow me at http://www.robinskonepalmer.com

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

