Home For the Holidays

About a year ago (maybe more, maybe less) I discovered a wonderful group of people through the magic of The Bloggess.If you haven’t read her work, you should. She is upfront about her personal experience with mental illness, and she’s just downright funny. Wait. Where was I? Ah, yes. The Tribe. Through the wonders of The Bloggess and Twitter, I have gotten connected with all of these great people.

For many, the holidays can be a challenge, even for those who don’t actually celebrate them. So to make things maybe a little brighter this season, I had an idea. What if we took the time to support one another through a package or a card swap? Fun, yes?

I would recommend keeping package contents at $20 or below because many of us are strapped for cash at the holidays, but you and your package swap partners can dicker on an amount if you want.

If you would like to participate, please send me an email at zooheatheroneAtGeemaildotcom. (this is code so that spam bots don’t seek me out. To decode, that is either 1 OR ONE – both are my accounts- and gmail)

The email should include the following:

Your name

An address (I encourage everyone to use a work address or P.O. box because I can’t guarantee into whose hands the final list will fall, even if I am careful).

Whether you are interested in a package swap, a card swap, or both

How many packages and/or cards you wish to swap

Whether you celebrate Christmas, Yule, or neither

How can your swap partner(s) encourage you?

Twitter handle

For those interested in a package exchange, please also include the following:

What helps you to enjoy the holidays? For example, I love Christmas music, both secular and religious. I also put toys on my Christmas wish list EVERY YEAR because I love to tap into the kid in me.

Favorite things

LEAST favorite things

Any food allergies, in case your partner wants to send you edibles.

I’ll keep this open until Monday, and then I will pair package partners (I’ll notify you through your DMs, so make sure you’re following me on Twitter. and share the card list with everyone who wants to exchange cards.

Let me know if there is anything I have missed.

Oh, and if you’re all “Man, I have no $$ for cards, postage, or packages, but I sure would like to get me some email,” let me know that, too.

Even if you can’t afford to send cards but need some holiday cheer, don’t hesitate to send me your info. I bet there are a bunch of people who find some pleasure in sending cards.

And because things are more fun with a photo, you get Tawny Frogmouth.

Tawny Frogmouth! TAWNY FROGMOUTH!

Tawny Frogmouth! TAWNY FROGMOUTH!

8 thoughts on “Home For the Holidays

  1. Super idea! I’ll be sending you an email. For now, I need to bring my Dad some pain-killers and make sure Isla doesn’t climb all over his broken ribs. Because that’s a thing.

  2. Tawny Frogmouth!

    I make jewelry and would be happy to connect some people with new earrings. I’ll email you later today. Or maybe tomorrow. It’s the weekend, I’m not quite sure why I’m out of bed yet.

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

