The Introverted Activist: We’re Still Fighting #Resist

What can I tell you that you don’t already know? I have not been as plugged in as I usually am because, frankly, I’m tired. Also, this year I implemented “No-tech Tuesdays” at my house because I enjoy giving my children yet another reason to resent me and because it is nice to have one day where I can say “Oh, no. I am not allowed to read anything else that Trumpertantrum has done,” so I missed some of the action.

Is Trump getting impeached

Again, I am going to have to odd because I just…can’t…even.

The low points of the week:

  • Senate confirmations of Betsy “Bought My Post” DeVos and Jeff “Too Racist To Be a Federal Judge, So I Have To Be Attorney General” Sessions.
  • the sexist censure of Elizabeth Warren
  • Kellyanne Conway’s commercial for Ivanka’s clothing line. It’s a low point mostly because I am so frustrated that the Senate is unlikely to do anything about it any time soon, though it was a clear violation of ethics.
  • My Representative, Jimmy Duncan, refuses to hold a town hall despite many requests. He denies the request based on the notion that he has received unkind emails since Trumpertantrum’s reign of terror, and he is sure a town hall will bring out “kooks and extremists.” He hasn’t held a town hall in over 20 years. If he is that paranoid, perhaps it is time for someone to oppose and depose him. Perhaps I am that someone. I don’t know yet.

The high points for the week:

  • 9th Circuit Court of Appeals smacks down the travel ban most gloriously. The fact that his tweets and rants about targeting a group of people based on their religion helped seal the deal is icing on that particularly scrumptious cake.
  • Then there’s this:https://twitter.com/XGroverX/status/829818984094654465
  • After Kellyanne Conwoman’s shameless (and I mean that in the most literal and astounding sense of the word) plug of Ivanka’s clothing line, the Office Of Government Ethics website crashed due to people filing complaints against her for using her public office in such a manner. They received 300K page views in 2016. In the first 40 days of this year, they have had 5,000,000 views. Hmm.
  • Preliminary paperwork has been filed to impeach ol’ 45.

 

What I did this week:

Honestly, not as much as I had planned. I hit a wall, but I am dusting myself off and preparing to dig in again.

I bought more cards to send to Senators. I want to  encourage those in Congress who are standing up to the Trumpertantrum. It is a tough job to do, and I don’t want it to be a thankless one.

I filed a complaint with the Office of Government Ethics over Kellyanne Conwoman. I’m sure I’ll be filing more in the near future.

I joined a “Huddle,” which is a small, local group that comes together to fight all of this garbage. We’re making t-shirts this weekend, and we’re sending cards to Congress and letters of admonition to certain others. More importantly, we’re encouraging one another and reminding ourselves that we are not alone in this fight.

For funsies, I signed a petition to discipline the Conwoman. These petitions don’t usually do much, BUT by signing it, I agreed to receive activism updates. I am all for that. I am new to this bidness, and I want to learn as much as I can.

Self care. I read an incredible book, and I treated myself to an autographed copy of another book that is due out soon and has had quite the buzz. And I slept when I was tired.

We are in this together. We can do it. We can’t give up, even when it feels like the chips are stacked against us and all that other cliche stuff. Want to learn how to be more effective in influencing Congress? Read this piece. There is even a link to a free e-book to help you learn more.

Face-palm of the week: Republicans aren’t telling us what the replacement for the Affordable Care Act will be because if they tell us ahead of time, we probably won’t like it. Uh, okay. Call me convinced, then.

What did you do this week?

 

 

20 thoughts on “The Introverted Activist: We’re Still Fighting #Resist

  1. Thank you for writing these posts. It gives me hope, and it makes me smile, to read your “whoo am I tired and new to this bidness but still giving it what I got cos I ain’t gonna just lie down while the world burns” attitude. And since I can’t write (or do) anything like this myself right now — running social media for a local anti-racist activist group is the very mostest I am keeping up with — on account of being head-down-shoulders-deep-in-lfe’s-crapper, speaking personally and not politically for a moment, I’m sure glad *somebody’s* out there working it. Also? If you should at any point decide to run in opposition to good ol’ “I’d meet with my constituents if they weren’t all such hysterical harridans!” Jimmy Duncan (or anybody else, for that matter), you got my support! I’ll meme you and errything…

  2. Love the comment about how if the representative is too scared to host a town hall, maybe someone should depose him, and maybe it should be you. I hope this mess encourages regular Joes (and Joans!) to step up to the plate. Maybe we could use some “normal” folks in government instead of these career politicians. The government is not supposed to be above us, they are supposed to help us keep things in order. They know nothing of order! Keep reisting!

    • That is exactly what I think. They represent US, or they are supposed to. Duncan is acting like he’s the daddy, and all us rowdy kids should fall into line. ARRRGH! This week will be interesting.

  3. Never mind no-tech Tuesdays, I think I’d need a dark room with no connection to the outside world to survive the next four years if I was an American. Keep fighting the good fight!

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

