Notes From the Zookeeper: I’m Surrounded By Turtles!

It’s day two at the Turtle Survival Center. I may never leave. Yesterday we scrubbed 40 turtle enclosures and did water changes, and I fell in love with a water buffalo named Cappuccino. Today, we prepared all the food for both veggie eaters and carnivores for some of the most endangered turtles in the world. I didn’t include any pics of the meat-based diet. Let’s just say I cleaned some blood off the walls when we were done and leave it at that.

This is a Leucocephalon yuwonoi, a name that is really fun to say! The boys have bright white heads. They have the best feet!

I have better pictures of the animals, but we have to wait until I am home because I am on my computer that has the screen that is pixelated and pink. You get my phone pictures. I put them in gallery form to make for easier viewing. Click to enlarge and read the caption.

I’ll try to have photos of the water buffalo tomorrow. What’s new in your world?

15 thoughts on “Notes From the Zookeeper: I’m Surrounded By Turtles!

    • (Your picture captions are a delight, btw! Now, please to define “browse”? Since it is apparently something *in addition* to fruits, veggies, and greens??)

  1. Well, you know I love me some turtle posts, but as I continue to dig out of my own hole, it takes me a while to open emails! SO good to see you back. I’ll have to catch up on reading, to see that water buffalo! 😉 xo

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

