Good Morning, Zoo!

Most mornings, I am on the early shift. It’s my responsibility to open up our department and get us ready for the day. Every morning has its familiar faces and routines. Sometimes I have to stop what I am doing and take a moment to appreciate how lucky I am to spend my time with amazing animals.

Remember Al? He's a bit sleepy in the morning. That makes sense because he is essentially solar powered. He's most active once he has warmed up a bit.

Remember Al? He’s a bit sleepy in the morning. That makes sense because he is essentially solar powered. He’s most active once he has warmed up a bit.

Our outdoor turtle marsh bustles with activity on a warm spring morning.

A wood turtle peeks out from his night-time hiding place under the leaf litter.

A wood turtle peeks out from his night-time hiding place under the leaf litter.

blog2

An eastern box turtle hits the snooze button in her leafy bed.

And sometimes we find a surprise guest.

blog4

Hey, you’re not a turtle! A five-line skink takes advantage of a sunny spot and basks in the warmth of the morning sun.

 

I have some surprises to share with you in a week or so. I can’t wait! As soon as I can tell, I will. Until then, I’m keeping secrets…

Happy Monday! I have not drawn the winner from the giveaway. I’ll work on that later tonight. In the meantime, you can still go here to vote if you’d like. Entries are closed, but I’d still appreciate the vote. Unless we just won. Which we might have done. I’ll keep you posted!

I’m signing up for Camp NaNoWriMo, it’s a little less crazy than the November event because we set our own goals. I’m starting my first new project since getting my full-time job. Anyone want to join me? Go here to sign up! 28 days until the writing begins. I can hardly wait!

9 thoughts on “Good Morning, Zoo!

  1. Ahh, lovely to see some of your charges but we’re waiting with antic………………….
    ……………pation for your news! Tried to vote again but not sure if it worked – no confirmation 😦

  2. I signed up for Camp NaNoWriMo in April & got almost no writing done because hubby was still at home. But wonder of wonders, he got a job a few weeks ago, so maybe I should try it again.

  3. Aw, hi, all the animals! That was one of my favorite things when I used to be the first one at the pet store, or the shelter – saying good morning to everyone and being the first person they got to see that day. I miss that!

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.

