Surviving Depression Part II, Holiday Edition

This one could be subtitled “I’m going to make it.”

My chronic condition has had a flare-up, and the psychiatric symptoms are the worst part. There’s no filter. Every sense is on edge. Everything from the keyboard touching my wrist to the stale perfume of the lady sitting next to me at the movies piles up on me until I’m ready to run screaming. But there are good things in my life, too. I’m not filtering those out, either. There is so much good.

Pandora wears a Santa hat because she loves me

Pandora wears a Santa hat because she loves me

Lucky penny I found on the sidewalk. Heads up, so all the luck is still in it!

Lucky penny I found on the sidewalk. Heads up, so all the luck is still in it! Maybe it’s a wishing penny, too. I wished on it. I’ll let you know.

This guy? This gloomy Gus? That's the Padawan. He was asked by his STEM teacher to submit his project idea to the university because he thinks it might be a lead on a cure to certain cancers.

This guy? This gloomy Gus? That’s the Padawan. He was asked by his STEM teacher to submit his project idea to the university because the teacher thinks it might be a lead on a cure to certain cancers. Like, really.

I have a job where a business trip sends me to places where I can see this.

I have a job where a business trip sends me to places where I can see stuff like this.

One of my Chinese Crocodile Lizards just birthed eleven of these tiny things. They're livebearers. I'll share more in a separate post.

One of my Chinese Crocodile Lizards just birthed eleven of these tiny things. They’re livebearers. I’ll share more in a separate post.

My darling Ravenclaw. I don't know how we got on without her. She plays fetch with that balled up pipe cleaner for hours.

My darling Ravenclaw. I don’t know how we got on without her. She plays fetch with that balled up pipe cleaner for hours.

Baby radiated tortoise hatching. Can you see her closed eye? She is sleeping and waiting to break out of the egg!

Baby radiated tortoise hatching. Can you see her closed eye? She is sleeping and waiting to break out of the egg!

Obama/Biden memes. These have made post-election life bearable.

Obama/Biden memes. These have made post-election life bearable.

Birthday doughnuts! The day after my birthday, so the magic lasted EVEN LONGER!

Surprise birthday doughnuts! The day after my birthday, so the magic lasted EVEN LONGER!

Surprise birthday Funko figures! I live in a world where Newt Scamander and Picket exist!

Surprise birthday Funko figures! I live in a world where Newt Scamander and Picket exist!

No photo for this one, but I got to take Squish to his first Star Wars movie in a theater. He watched the trilogy for his birthday a few years ago, now he reads the books, watches Rebels, and obsesses about Boba Fett. It was a privilege to take him to Rogue One. He was SO excited! Every time he saw an Easter egg or a familiar character, he hit me in the arm and looked at me with a look of shock and wonder.

And I have a husband who went out to get me a Waffleberry Brownie Blast because I asked him to. I am lucky. And Christmas is coming. I’m settling into the joy of the season.  Even if it’s hard at times, the joy of the season is still there. It gets buried, but it’s there.

What brings you joy? Here’s to the end of 2016

I just joined a blog hop, and you can, too. Here are your instructions, should you choose to accept them (please accept!).

From Dawn at Tales from the Motherland: “To join us for this project: 1) Write your post and publish it (please copy and paste the instructions from this post, into yours) 2) Click on the InLinkz tool at the very bottom of this post. 3) That will take you to another window, where you can past the URL to your post. (folks have trouble with this, but it’s not that hard. 4)Follow the prompts, and your post will be added to the Blog Party List. Please note: the InLinkz will expire on January 3, 2017. After that date, no blogs can be added.”

Inlinkz Tool Here

I can’t wait to read about the things you are grateful for.

23 thoughts on “Surviving Depression Part II, Holiday Edition

  1. Very nice snakes. I guess the one on the right is an albino milksnake? Don’t think I’ve seen one of those before. I used to have a corn snake in my classroom. They are great snakes. Vitamin D might help too. It helps me. Merry Christmas! I’m happy that I’m off for two weeks! I have already tagged some great video on Netflix and Amazon to watch….hopefully with a cat on my lap. Ravenclaw is the best. (don’t tell I said so)

    • Yes, they’re actually both albino Nelson’s. One is T-positive and right now looks normal, but the black with fade to brown. Ravenclaw really is the best. She dumps her toy on my keyboard and noses my hand. She’s a dog in a cat suit.

  2. Love this Heather, but sorry you’re struggling. I SO get it. December is a reminder of very dark times for me, and also a reminder that I got thru’ them! I tried emailing you today, but it bounced back. Check out my current blog post, I’d LOVE to have you join… and this one is a perfect link to add. 🙂 Happy holidays blog darlin’. xox

  3. I so get this. I’m definitely going to join in the bloghop, thanks for bringing it up.

    I love your list of gratefuls. So great.

    And those snakes. So wonderful.
    And your kids, such awesomeness.
    And your Ravenclaw is most excellent. (I am a Ravenclaw with a strong helping of Hufflepuff. 🙂 ) We had a cat that loved to fetch balled up bits of tin foil. Not sure how that started, but it was definitely fetching & if you too the tin foil out for some other reason he would appear and give you a look.

  4. The science teacher in me is jumping up and down and dancing around my living room singing about the coolitude of young Padawan! And baby reptiles. But mostly your kid. 🙂

    Unfortunately, I also know about chronic illness, pain and lack of spoons, so the dancing is “virtual,” but it is so totally there!!!

  5. After my health issues last year and hubby’s health issues this year, I am grateful that we are still here and doing relatively well. It could have been worse. Maybe one day soon it will be, but for now we are OK. Now if the rest of our family members could have restored health, that would be an extra blessing. Those doughnuts look so yummy and not on our new diets. Phooey. We are really watching salt. I never realized how much there is in everything. Everything. Another thing I am extremely grateful for is that my guy will be in the White House next year. 🙂

    • You don’t realize how much salt is in stuff until you can’t have it. It makes eating less fun, for sure!

      I’m so glad you guys are doing better health-wise. I know the Brown Dawgs are looking forward to hunting again!

A penny for your thoughts! And by penny, I mean a warm-fuzzy in your heart.